St. Patrick’s Day

As per usual, here’s another late holiday post. I had some friends over for St. Pattie’s day and it was a blast. I made cottage pie, as per usual, but Em also asked me to make colcannon. Since it was her birthday that week and I didn’t get her anything, she got it. ^^’ I have never even had colcannon before, let alone made it. Turns out, I love it.

Here’s the menu, as you can see, it needed some revision.

Pesto cheesecake recipe was from Taste of Home and it was amazing. I served it with Triskets, which was a good call if I do say so myself.

I made mini twice baked potatoes. I kept it simple and didn’t use a recipe. Any twice baked potato recipe will do.

Cottage Pie based on the Shepard’s Pie recipe from Food Wishes. I totally understand why he’s making the distinction, but I just am not a huge fan of lamb, so I used beef instead. Still was very good.

Colcannon recipe from Tyler Florence on the Food Network site. I didn’t change a thing and Em said it was the best she’s ever had. I’ll take her word for it since it’s the only version I’ve ever had.

I tried making cupcakes, but they didn’t turn out so well. Luckily, Em brought down an amazing cake. We iced it with chocolate ganache and then Em, Ryula, and Draugr took turns trying to decorate it. The end result was pretty damn amusing.

Our St. Patrick’s day cake

P.S. Check out the amazing Christmas present Em brought me. ^^ I love it lots.

About soshisan

Web developer with a love of gaming, reading, and creating.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

Cooking, designing, decorating, organizing, gardening, learning. Always learning.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Check out Soshi’s Pintrest

The random ideas that I get from the internet can be found here.

SoshiMariko's Pintrest

The Art of Looking

Writers:

Pick your Poison

