Make ahead meals

I have started cooking large amounts of meat in my crockpot and then freezing them and it’s been wonderful. Everything is stored in ziplocks, portioned out by serving. It’s not a new idea and there are plenty of recipes that I haven’t tried in the freezer, but here’s what I’ve been up to, and some links to resources.

Here’s a look at what all I have in my freezer right now. Except the cat. She just likes being in all of my pictures.

Barbacoa beef

We had guests over the day after I made this and they were asking what smelled so good. It’s a very flavorful recipe that is a snap to throw together. Then just leave it in the crock pot and you have perfect taco filling. But that’s hardly the only use it has, notice the salad below. On a whim I added some to my left over colcannon after St. Pattie’s day and that was amazing.

Salad with barbacoa beef and a dressing made of salsa and low fat greek yogurt.

BBQ Pulled Pork and/or Spicy Shredded Pork

Boy loves pulled pork sandwiches so I made some in the crock pot for Valentines day, and there was a lot. It freezes and thaws perfectly. I used snack sized ziplock bags to freeze sandwich sized portions so it’s an easy one or two person meal, thought it’s nice to have some extra bbq sauce on hand as well. It can seem a bit dry after being reheated. The spicy shredded pork, is my favorite for tacos.

My BBQ pork sandwich, which is on the skinny side. Boy’s would have about double the meat.

Shredded Chicken

For the chicken, I decided to cook it with very basic seasoning. I took some chicken thighs, took off the skin, and threw them in the crock pot with onions, carrots, celery, and some chicken broth. It all worked out well, but I cooked it too long. Next time, I think I’ll do 4 hours on low. As it is, it fell apart a little too much and the texture just isn’t there. Still, it makes a good chicken salad and I’m thinking that I’ll mix it with some buffalo sauce and put it on a salad next. Other options include: chicken enchiladas, soups, nachos, and whatever else you can think up.

Chicken salad on a leaf of romaine lettuce. I like mine with horseradish and dried cranberries mixed in and walnuts on top.

These are some of the less versatile meals I freeze, some of which are pictured at the top of the post. Didn’t have them all on hand, though. I love cauliflower puree, so it doesn’t stick around long.

Beef stew

Cottage Pie

Lentil Curry soup

Buffalo Chicken soup

Cauliflower puree

After reading a few articles on the subject, I’m gonna try a few others next time ground beef goes on sale, like meatloaf and hamburgers. Also hiding the dark recesses of my freezer are a ham bone and a turkey carcass. The ham bone will become soup after Easter and then I’ll have some soup in there instead. ^^

Here’s some links for more information on the subject.

Southern Living

Martha Stewart

Taste of Home

Freezer Meals for Us

What’s Cookin’ Chicago?

And feel free to check out my Pintrest Board for freezer meals. I’m always on the look out for more to add.

About soshisan

Web developer with a love of gaming, reading, and creating.

One response to “Make ahead meals

  1. Mmmmm…. I definitely need to get a slow cooker.
    Going to try that cauliflower puree after my next shopping trip, sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

Cooking, designing, decorating, organizing, gardening, learning. Always learning.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Check out Soshi’s Pintrest

The random ideas that I get from the internet can be found here.

SoshiMariko's Pintrest

The Art of Looking

Writers:

Pick your Poison

