Happy Easter!

Easter for the past few years has had more meaning for me than it used to. My grandma died 3 years ago on April 1. Last year I started cooking my grandma’s Easter dinner for my mom, a little taste of the past for both of us. Every year I saw my grandma for Easter and for Thanksgiving, and that’s it. I have very vivid memories of those holiday dinners, shared with my aunts, uncles, and cousins, and I really regret that I didn’t have the same interest in cooking back then that I do now. I could have learned so much more if I’d stuck around the kitchen and watched my grandma.

I’m working on a cookbook of her recipes, but I won’t be able to post about that until it’s done. I can, however, tell you all about this year’s Easter dinner. I took some liberty, modifying some of the standards, making my own take on them. I think grandma would have appreciated it. I had to start by putting out the necessities.

Oil and vinegar, the dressing for our salad every year

sweet pickles and black olives, out for every sit down meal,

salt, pepper, and butter.

The eggs are my own addition, an attempt at using natural dyes. Only the turmeric did very well.

Salad was the other essential, and that’s even the bowl she served it in.  ^^

The rest of the meal! My aunt was kind enough to let me use her smoker, which made for an amazing ham. It was moist and tender and smokey. Then we had green beans with bacon, a grandma classic. That last one is cauliflower puree. Traditionally, it should be steamed cauliflower with butter and bread crumbs, but I wanted my mom to try my new favorite dish, so I made the puree. I did saute some breadcrumbs in butter to sprinkle on top, though.

It was good meal. I was very happy with the results and I think my mom liked it. ^^ Oh! Can’t forget dessert. I didn’t take pictures because I forgot. All I did was make these chocolate chip cookies, apply a biscuit cutter to them as soon as they were out of the oven, and made ice cream sandwiches out of them. They were amazingly good.

I hope you all had a good Easter!

About soshisan

Web developer with a love of gaming, reading, and creating.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

Cooking, designing, decorating, organizing, gardening, learning. Always learning.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Check out Soshi’s Pintrest

The random ideas that I get from the internet can be found here.

SoshiMariko's Pintrest

The Art of Looking

Writers:

Pick your Poison

