Containers make everything better

I have a problem with my pantry, namely that it has steadily been getting messier! I’ve only dealt with one shelf so far, but it has already helped my sanity.

Note the various bags that are just floating around, and there’s plenty more you can’t see. They made everything very unstable. I had couscous in a bag from the bulk bins from Sprouts, bags of nuts, chocolate chips, and caramels. And so on.

I started looking for sturdy, air tight, rectangular containers online and it turns out they’re fairly expensive. On a vaguely related note, I ruined our kettle not too long ago. Off to Ross I went to get a new one, and there I found a ton of perfect containers. I saved a lot by getting a variety from there instead.

And a little scoop colander. It’s been useful already. ^^ So now that shelf looks like this:

Which makes me a happy person.

Oh, on the subject of containers in the kitchen, check these out.

They’re tea tins from Cost Plus World Market. I find that they’re perfect for storing cooking staples that I don’t need much of, like breadcrumbs, cornmeal, and baking powder. They’ve got an interior lid that is tight and I’d guess they’re air tight. Someday I hope to have room to keep them out, since they’re very nice looking. I also want to add some chalkboard paint, so I can get rid of the masking tape labels. >>

About soshisan

Web developer with a love of gaming, reading, and creating.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

Cooking, designing, decorating, organizing, gardening, learning. Always learning.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Check out Soshi’s Pintrest

The random ideas that I get from the internet can be found here.

SoshiMariko's Pintrest

The Art of Looking

More Photos

Writers:

Pick your Poison

